share our page on:

The EPSA evaluation and assessment methodology

All submitted projects, which meet the eligibility criteria, are assessed against eight evaluation criteria:

  1. Innovation: i.e. the novelty of the solution, the degree to which the case shows a leap of creativity in the practice of public administration (which may include intelligent adaptation, update and extension of past practices or actions), and demonstrates something different that goes beyond what currently exists.
  2. Stakeholder involvement: i.e. the case shows evidence of stakeholder involvement, e.g. evidence of public and civil society cooperation and/or response to consultation, evidence of political support; in particular, evidence of intelligent engagement with stakeholders which can influence the design and production of services, smart partnership and governance models.
  3. Relevance of actions taken: i.e. the particular needs and constraints of the context, the target groups and final beneficiaries, and how the actions address their real needs.
  4. Impact/results: i.e. the realisation of planned objectives and activities; the illustration of proven evidence of benefits, visible impact and tangible results, (which may be based on objectively high levels of achievement).
  5. Sustainability: i.e. the case shows or describes elements which allow it to be sustained beyond an initial period of the realisation of its objectives and of its activities.
  6. Transferability and learning capacity: i.e. the case has potential value and lessons to be learnt for other entities because it provides the potential for successful replication in other contexts (different Member States and levels of government); it stimulates a learning, innovation and self-improvement culture within the entity.
  7. Social inclusion: i.e. the case provides evidence of consideration and application of diversity issues, including, but not restricted to, consideration of gender, age, disability and geographical location.
  8. Effect on financial sustainability and economic growth: i.e. the case is based on an assessment of the effect of decisions made on public finances (e.g. deficit/debt) and future economic recovery (employment, output, skills, etc.).

Sufficient detail must also be provided in the applications to demonstrate the quality of the achievements of the case and the lessons learnt.
The assessment is carried out in an independent and impartial multi-step evaluation process.

In the first step, a set number of projects within a concrete award category is allocated to each evaluator based on their professional background and sector (a mix of academia, the practice field and the private sector), nationality (evaluators may not assess projects from their country of origin or employment) and gender. Each project is assessed online, independently and exclusively, by different experts. The evaluators do not know each other, or how the other evaluator assessed the respective project. 

During the Consensus Meeting (Step 2), all evaluators come together to review and discuss the first available provisional ranking based on their individual scorings and possible discrepancies. Furthermore, they unanimously decide on the Best Practice Certificate Recipients and on the top short-listed projects in each award category for the onsite visits.

The third step - the onsite visits – serves to validate and verify the results and recommendations of the previous two evaluation steps, i.e. to spot-check whether the content of the application form of the project corresponds to the “reality”; to find the answers to the un-answered questions raised by the evaluators, to detect possible inconsistencies and to gather additional or missing information and data. EIPA representatives do not re(assess) the projects!


The fourth and final step consists of the Jury Meeting, where five jurors (high-ranking stakeholders and/or political personalities, separate from the evaluators) decide on the nominees and the award winners in each category and the third award based on the short-listed projects of the on-site visits.

The EPSA 2015 winners are…

Supra-local and local award: Every Child Safe Forever – The Development of Relentless Family Case Management and the End of Parole and Other Court Orders, submitted by the Youth Protection Amsterdam Region (NL)
European, national and regional award: BQ-Portal – The Information Portal for Foreign Professional Qualifications, submitted by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (DE)
Cross-cutting award: Urban Environment and Health, submitted by the Barcelona Provincial Council (ES)
Read more about the EPSA 2015 final event and award ceremony

News & Events


  • In Search of Local Public Management Excellence Seven Journeys to Success

    This book aims to demonstrate that various creative and smart routes to excellent solutions are possible, by analysing success stories in different areas of local public management from seven European cities in the EPSA scheme – Bilbao (ES), Birmingham (UK), Mannheim (DE), Milan (IT), Tallinn (EE), Tampere (FI), and Trondheim (NO). It concludes by presenting seven steps leading to excellence. The only thing left to find out is: are other cities ready to take on the challenge?

  • Public Management in the 21st Century

    What kind of ideas are behind the remodelling of the state and public sector, and how have these ideas materialized in practice? In this book the authors illustrate what are the driving forces behind the huge amount of public management reforms over the last three decades. Trends and ideas of public management reforms in practice are validated by data from European Public Sector Award cases (2009 and 2011).

YouTube Channel