All European public sector institutions from all administrative levels, as well as public sector enterprises, agencies or public-private partnerships were invited to submit their projects for the award. The application period ran from 5 February to 24 April 2015.

In concrete terms, this includes all public entities from cities, local authorities, the supra-local (provincial) and regional level, as well as public sector organisations at national and European level.

The lead applicant must be a public sector institution or authority (other applicants – in a consortium, for example – can be private, semi-public, NGO or academic).

Projects/cases have to belong to one of the two administrative categories:

Category 1: European, national or regional administrative level.

The European level refers to European institutions or agencies; the national level refers to the level of sovereign states; and the regional level refers to the first level of administrative and political subdivision of a state. 

Category 2:
Supra-local or local administrative level.

The supra-local and local level refers to the administrative and political levels below the regional level.


France: national level; regional level: régions (mainland and overseas regions); supra-local and local level:départements, municipalités.

Spain: national level; regional level: comunidades autónomas, ciudades autónomas; supra-local and local:provincias diputaciones, municipios.

Poland: national level; regional level: Voivodship - Województwo; supra-local and local level: powiaty(councils/districts), gminy (municipalities).

Bulgaria: national level; supra-local and local level: Obshtina (municipalities).

Eligibility criteria to be fulfilled by the applicants are:

  • European geographical origin of the applicant (List of eligible countries)
  • Compliance with the theme of the EPSA 2015 competition;
  • The application/project/case must have been in operation long enough to have proven evidence of impact and a tangible result;
  • Completed application form;
  • Confirmation that the application has been submitted, i.e. notification mail before deadline 24.00 Brussels local time (CET), 17 April 2015; and
  • The working language of the EPSA 2015 is English, thus it is strongly recommended to submit projects in English.

Projects submitted by applicants are encouraged to consider relevant aspects of gender equality, the use of ICT-enabled solutions and/or environmental sustainability. In addition, those projects benefiting from EU supportive actions, such as the European Social Fund (ESF) TO 11 (‘Enhancing institutional capacity of public authorities and stakeholders and efficient public administration’), are especially invited to submit their achievements.

Finally, previous EPSA participants may re-submit projects from the previous EPSA editions on the basis that it includes an intelligent adaptation, update and extension of past projects.

"The prize is a unique opportunity for a small-scale project to present itself and reach a wider attention” (EPSA 2011 applicant)